DNSG is a dynamic scientific group. We grow and enrich our understanding of the field of diabetes and nutrition through ongoing collaboration and exchange.

We invite researchers to become members of the organisation, and to participate in the development of the field via our annual conference and ongoing information exchange within the network.

There is a peer review-based process for becoming a member. A membership candidate needs to present a paper at two of the group’s meetings. The meetings do not have to be consecutive. A candidate can then request membership by sending a summary (list) of the two papers presented, along with a CV, to the DNSG secretary (Anne-Marie Aas).

The secretary will present all valid candidates for membership to the DNSG Board at the next annual meeting. The Board will recommend candidature to the general assembly at the same annual meeting.

The Assembly will then vote on membership. The secretary will inform candidates if their application for membership is successful.

Members have the right to participate and vote in the business meeting of the group, and to elect the committee. For more information regarding the membership process please email Anne-Marie Aas.

DNSG Membership History

Honorary members

Klaus Geressen, Germany
Arnold Gries, Germany
Nicholas Katsilambros, Greece
Lutz Müller, Germany
Arthur Teuscher, Switzerland
Ivo De Leeuw, Belgium


  • Ursula Schwab, Kuopio Finland, (2018-act)
  • Ulf Risérus, Uppsala, Sweden, (2012-2018)
  • Andreas F.H. Pfeiffer, Potsdam, Germany, (2007-2012)
  • Angela Rivellese, Naples, Italy, (2004-2007)
  • Kjeld Hermansen, Aarhus, Denmark, (2001-2004)
  • Bengt Vessby, Uppsala, Sweden, (1998-2001)
  • Basil Karamanos, Athens, Greece, (1995-1998)
  • Gérard Slama, Paris, France, (1992-1995)
  • Monika Toeller, Düsseldorf, Germany, (1989-1992)
  • Jim Mann, Oxford, United Kingdom, (1984-1989)


  • Cyril Kendall, Toronto, Canada, (2018-act)
  • Ursula Schwab, Kuopio, Finland, (2012-2018)
  • Ulf Risérus, Uppsala, Sweden, (2010-2012)
  • Vladimir Vuksan, Toronto, Canada, (2007-2010)
  • Ulrich Julius, Dresden, Germany, (2004-2007)
  • Salwa Rizkalla, Paris, France, (2001-2004)
  • Kjeld Hermansen, Aarhus, Denmark, (2000-2001)
  • Luc van Gaal, Antwerp, Belgium, (1998-2000)
  • Bengt Vessby, Uppsala, Sweden, (1995-1998)
  • Robert Heine, Amsterdem, The Netherlands, (1992-1995)
  • Ivo De Leeuw, Antwerp, Belgium, (1989-1992)
  • Monika Toeller, Düsseldorf, Germany, (1987-1989)
  • Arnold Gries, Düsseldorf, Germany, (1984-1987)

Scientific Secretaries

  • Anne-Marie Aas, Oslo, Norway, (2018-act)
  • Cyril Kendall, Toronto, Canada, (2013-2018)
  • Anastasia Thanopoulou, Athens, Greece, (2010-2013)
  • Ulf Risérus, Uppsala, Sweden, (2007-2010)
  • Judith Chwalow, Paris, France, (2004-2007)
  • Ulrich Julius, Dresden, Germany, (2001-2004 )  
  • Salwa Rizkalla, Paris, France, (1998-2001)
  • Luc van Gaal, Antwerp, Belgium, (1995-1998)  
  • Basil Karamanos, Athens, Greece, (1992-1995)
  • Gérard Slama, Paris, France, (1990-1992)
  • Gabriele Riccardi, Naples, Italy, (1987-1990)
  • Monika Toeller, Düsseldorf, Germany, (1984-1987)


  • Soren Gregersen, Denmark , (2019-act)
  • Per Bendix Jeppesen, Aarhus, Denmark, (2012-2019)
  • Ursula Schwab, Kuopio, Finland, (2007-2012)
  • Athanasios Kofinis, Athens, Greece, (2004-2007)
  • Inga Thorsdottir, Reykjavik, Iceland, (2000-2004)
  • Kjeld Hermansen, Aarhus, Denmark, (1998-2000)
  • Matti Uusitupa, Kuopio, Finland, (1996-1998)
  • Ernst Chantelau, Düsseldorf, Germany, (1993-1996)
  • Michael Lean, Glasgow, United Kingdom, (1990-1993)

(Updated on: September 2019)